Ophthalmology Star Awards Winners Announced

VSY Biotechnology organized the Ophthalmology Star Awards Ceremony in Paris on September 14th, 2019

VSY Biotechnology was the center of attention at the 37th Congress of the European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (ESCRS), the world’s premier ophthalmology event, with its booth, scientific and social events. VSY Biotechnology presented the traditional Ophthalmology Star Awards to the winners during the ESCRS Congress. The jury consisted of Roberto Bellucci, M.D., Johan Blanckaert, M.D., Prof. Marko Hawlina, M.D.,
Ph.D., FEBO, and Prof. Sabong Srivannaboon, M.D., the world’s leading ophthalmologists. The jury selected the Stars of Ophthalmology among ophthalmologists who have published scientific papers in ophthalmology journals and applied for the awards.

Pornpattana Vichitvejpaisal, M.D., Chairman of the Medical Staff Association and Director of the Ophthalmology Department at Chulabhorn Royal Academy of Thailand, Vito Romano, M.D., PGDip CRS, MHA, Director of the St Paul’s Eye Unit of the Royal Liverpool University Hospital, and Prof. Dr. Choun-Ki Joo, M.D., Ph.D., from the Department of Ophthalmology of the Catholic University of South Korea were named as the winners.


Dr. Roberto Bellucci / Jury Member:
“VSY Biotechnology is supporting both clinical and academic studies and offering opportunities to young ophthalmologists. Their support will allow doctors to expand their research and study during the upcoming years. For this reason, the importance of the Ophthalmology Star Awards will grow every year. I congratulate the winners of this prestigious awards and thank all jury members for their contribution.”

Dr. Marko Hawlina / Jury Member:
“I would like to congratulate VSY Biotechnology for introducing the Ophthalmology Star Awards to the ophthalmology world during ESCRS 2019. All papers submitted were of high quality; we really had a hard time choosing the winning paper. The Ophthalmology Star Awards has a bright future ahead, and I hope we will have many more excellent award candidates. I would be honored to be part of the jury again in the future.”

Dr. Andrea Bedei /Audience:
“Honoring the most interesting publications, and doing so at an important congress like ESCRS, is a positive way to acknowledge the work done by the authors and to encourage more research. Congratulations to VSY Biotechnology and the winners.”

Application process for Ophthalmology Star Awards 2020 has started!

Following the presentation of 2019 Ophthalmology Star Awards to the winners at the ESCRS Congress in Paris in October 2019, the OSA 2020 application process has now started. We are waiting for your applications on innovative studies conducted in the field of ophthalmology. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony to be held in ESCRS Amsterdam in October 2020.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here